Wisdom Wednesday

Prayer vs Meditation

God’s word speaks on meditation in the Psalms. But before Angela Bassett’s Iconic role as “Tina Turner” in the 1993 biographical film: What’s Love Got to Do With It,  I had not given meditation any real serious thought. I was focused on learning how to just  focus during prayer…as if that’s not a challenge within itself.  

After the movie’s debut I saw more articles and advertisements on meditation… from steps to learning the practice…to meditation groups and lounges, whereby a group of people meet and meditate simultaneously. And then later, there was media mogul, Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra and their 21-day meditation challenge posted/linked/everywhere!   

If you saw the movie, it’s hard not to remember the constant chants…Namu Myoho Renge Kyo (which means to “Empty your mind”)…Namu Myoho Renge Kyo…Namu Myoho Renge Kyoooo, her mantra and chime and bell ritual.

This being a Buddhist Mantra, I don’t plan to do that but, I’m learning to meditate by its definition of thinking deeply and any combination of reflecting, analyzing and feeling or (calming effect), of the good works of God thus involving my whole being ( note the word good, for anything can be used for evil). I now know that meditation is a component of prayer (spiritual communication with God) which is necessary.  I sometimes meditate as a opening to my prayer, it helps me to get any other negative thoughts out of my mind and aim my focus for prayer.  

My younger self some how believed that meditation was exclusive to certain denominations of religion. But know this: I believe in prayer unequivocally (and the power thereof).  Meditation can be done simply by: repeating a verse for memory, getting still and listening for God’s word, move from meditation to application.   A word of caution: meditation can make you excited and faithful!

Keep calm and meditate

Reference: Psalms 19:14

 

This blog was created and is always meant to inspire, uplift, and encourage.

Leave a Reply

