Wisdom Wednesday

One Life to Live: Do Now

For the next few weeks, I’ll be blogging a series titled “One Life to Live.” I will discuss anything from goals to greatness of life.

Life is short no matter how long we live and each fleeting moment is a gift from God. Is there anything that’s important to you? Are you putting it off for a better day? What are you doing with your one life?  Would you dream big, reach for the stars….soaring high?

You see, I’m learning to be a “do now” person. How I learned this lesson: the first way I learned is from being a former procrastinator (one who thinks they always have time).  It is also one who puts off because of not wanting to do or laziness. The Second and very, very valuable way that I learned is  from my dear sister’s death. She succumbed to breast cancer at the young age of 45. I wanted to do all these things with her and a few of them I could have done but, I thought I had more time. Thankfully we shared lots together before her illness. So there’s no pressure or guilt there. But I still hurt sometimes…not because of her death, but because I failed to do “one” thing in particular. I’ve forgiven myself though…(whew) because it would have been a surprise.

“Lord remind me  how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away.” {Psalm 39:4, Life application bible}

Let us tend to what is truly important and more importantly who is truly important to us!

 

Leave a Reply

